With a name like Chaim…

I couldn’t find any decent paper, and Brian is working on his flickr site, so this entry is jotted down on one of the many notepads lying around our house. That’s what happens when you are married to a creative person. Even though he currently feels worthless, and is lacking any sort of needed confidence, we have notepads on hand.

Houston: We have notepads.

I wanted to write about a book I’m reading. Isn’t that just the ultimate compliment to an author? To feel compelled to share ideas/thoughts about someone else’s ideas/thoughts –no matter how hidden or misunderstood they may become when in fiction form. It would probably mean more if the compelled had more than two brain cells to rub together.

The book is called My Name is Asher Lev, by Chaim Potok. First off, this author’s name strikes me every single time I pick up the book. I am nowhere near a literary critic, or have any such knowledge, but this piece is very gripping. There’s a simple something in these pages that I am sure some genius editor has already found a perfect name for, and I find myself actually reading slowly. A really good book, for me, has always been the one that I lose sleep over, can’t put down, and finish in 1-2 days, be it 100 pages or 500. I read quickly and miss certain details to keep up with the magnificent plot and become lost in the whole of it. Asher Lev, in some ways, has been a textbook read, if that could be meant in a positive way. I’m not sure if it is my altogether ignorance of the Jewish faith, or if the artistic details keep me more focused on those paragraphs I would normally skim. It is probably a little of both, and while some passages border on the edge of ‘dull’, I find it a very enjoyable read. Possibly a favorite to date.

Book Cover

~ by Lindsey on 20 March 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
