as the air gets a little cooler

I’ve wanted to update for a while, but to be honest with you, I haven’t known how to say what I’d like to say.  Part of me is very open about my feelings politically and morally, and part of me is very hesitant to try and put these feelings to words.  I am not unhappy with the results of last week’s election, though my heart tells me to be wary of any decision that is made right now, due to our economy and global situation.  Thank goodness North Carolina had early voting in place.  If that hadn’t been an option, we’d probably STILL be undecided.  hehem.

Anyway, that’s enough about that.  I’ll just be hopeful for some changes that need to take place, and in prayer about the things that I hope stay the same.  My husband and I got a puppy a few weeks ago.  Her name is Olive and she is a sweetheart.

Olive at 7 weeks

Olive at 7 weeks

She is a chocolate and tan miniature dachshund.  We love her a lot and are happy to have grown as a family in this way.  Right now, there is much biting and jumping and learning where to pee, and though that can be painstaking, I’m loving every minute.  We’d like to socialize her to other animals soon, so anyone who might have stumbled upon this blog and lives within 75 miles of Albemarle, NC…hit me up.

We’re in the midst of vaccinations, crate training, house training and trying to get her to sit still long enough for some pictures.  A good selection of the few we have so far can be found on my facebook page:

Facebook Album: Olive

I know.  Too much adorable.

Work is going well.  We’re having students on campus much more than last year, which is a good sign in my opinion.  My numbers are way up from last year at this time, and I’m feeling good about the students that I’m working with right now.  We had Falcon Preview Day on Saturday with a great turnout.  It went very smoothly with only one or two hiccups.  I got a deposit!  That’s always a good thing.

I’ll try to end on something a little less mind-blowingly boring.  I’ve never been on board with those of you who LOVE autumn.  For some reason, the short days and colder weather never brought about good feelings for me, so while most people have been “I LOVE FALL!!”, I’ve been, “Time for a coat.”  For some unknown reasons, my feelings have changed a little this year.  Our Fall has been especially beautiful, with the leaves lasting on the trees much longer than last year.  Also, the shorter days haven’t been as much an issue for me, again, inexplicably so.  I’m enjoying it, and while I don’t know why, I’m not going to ask.  It’s never a bad thing to start liking something for which you’ve never had an affinity previously.

I’m not even upset that we aren’t putting up a tree this year.  Stop right there.  Don’t choke on your coffee.  Brian and I LOVE Christmas but with a new puppy and being in VA for about three weeks around the holidays, there is little need for heavy decorating.  We’re still planning on putting up other festive things like our wreath, kitchen stuff and stockings.  Just not the tree.  It really is one of the most depressing things to come home on January 3rd to a house full of dusty decorations.  Finding a way to stuff it all back into the respective boxes, while also doing laundry for work, and putting away new gifts is just terrible.  Christmas isn’t about having a tree in your living room, anyway.  And I’m sure we’ll have plenty of glittery, tinselly puppy poop to pick up while we’re in VA.  We can get that out of our systems there.

~ by Lindsey on 10 November 2008.

2 Responses to “as the air gets a little cooler”

  1. I’m glad you’re beginning to like fall. I wonder if I had something to do with it.

  2. Yay for updates! I randomly still update my LJ, but don’t use it as often as I use to. We’ll need to get together when you’re in town, of course.

    BTW…Elizabeth and I never took our tree down from last year. CUz we’re that awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
